facebook
Twitter
Linkedin
Feedback
CALL+OFF+DUTY+logo

Property Week is calling on chancellor Philip Hammond to reverse damaging reforms to stamp duty land tax - find out how you can get involved

60 College Gardens in Chingford Strettons big seller

Strettons notes less resi trepidation

31 March 2017

Strettons raised £6.7m at its March residential auction - less than half the £14.7m it made last year - but said that the impact of changes to the stamp duty regime had not been as severe as anticipated.

RSS feed for Leading opinions on stamp duty

Leading opinions on stamp duty

Housebuilding

The white paper was no whitewash for BTR investors

2 March 2017

In a 12-month period that has brought us not just Brexit but also US president Donald Trump, the government’s housing white paper was never going to set the media world alight.

Construction

Spring Budget: chancellor must act to remove tax barriers

28 February 2017

Backed by stronger-than-expected tax receipts, the chancellor has an opportunity to support property developers and investors by removing tax barriers that are blocking development and putting tenants at risk.

Liz Hamson, editor of Propety Week

Chancellor must heed call on duty as well as business rates

24 February 2017

The clamour of voices calling for urgent change to the business rates regime ahead of 1 April, when the new ratings list comes into effect, reached such a crescendo this week that it looks pretty nailed on that there will be some sort of announcement in the Budget on 8 March.

Construction / housebuilding

Housing white paper just tinkers around the edges

16 February 2017

This white paper is far from the radical overhaul of housing policy that was promised (10.02.17).

Martin Skinner Inspired new

Stamp duty just part of the PRS problem

19 January 2017

As evidenced by three Fizzy Living schemes falling through as a result of the stamp duty surcharge, government changes are hitting buy-to-let (BTL) investors hard.

_CALL OFF DUTY logo

Call Off Duty: extra stamp duty is immobilising house sales

5 January 2017

In my opinion, the stamp duty increases made by George Osborne were largely politically motivated and one suspects that the present government is concerned that in reducing stamp duty, particularly for the more expensive properties, they will be criticised for helping their rich friends.

_CALL OFF DUTY logo

Why the BPF is backing #CallOffDuty

16 December 2016

I am delighted that Property Week has launched its Call Off Duty campaign. Recent changes to stamp duty land tax (SDLT) on both the residential and commercial fronts have affected investor confidence and the ability of our industry to play its part in housing our country’s people and businesses

_CALL OFF DUTY logo

Call Off Duty: Industry backs fight against 'crippling' tax

8 December 2016

Property Week’s Call Off Duty campaign to convince the government to revisit George Osborne’s damaging changes to stamp duty has got off to a flying start, with key figures in the industry pledging their support.

More opinion

This is your campaign

Sign our petition and join the clamour of voices calling on Philip Hammond to Call Off Duty.

Make sure your voice is heard...

CalloffDuty Demands

Timetable

  • Now The survey on our dedicated microsite is live and waiting for your responses
  • 9 January Deadline for responses
  • 20 January Property Week publishes the Call Off Duty list of demands
  • February We deliver our list of demands to 11 Downing Street
  • March (Budget day yet to be confirmed) The industry awaits the chancellor’s budget speech with bated breath
  • One minute later We celebrate victory, or…
  • April We regroup and carry on putting on the pressure in the build-up to the Budget Statement in the autumn

#CalloffDuty



Subscribe to Property Week


Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Poll

Will 2017 see a marked increase in M&A activity in the listed property sector following this week’s proposed takeovers of Market Tech and Kennedy Wilson Europe?