facebook
Twitter
Linkedin
Feedback
CALL+OFF+DUTY+logo

Property Week is calling on chancellor Philip Hammond to reverse damaging reforms to stamp duty land tax - find out how you can get involved

Lucian Cook

2017 Predictions: Lucian Cook

6 January 2017

Topic: Call Off Duty

Adam Lawrence

2017 Predictions: Adam Lawrence

6 January 2017

Topic: Call Off Duty

Bruce Ritchie

2017 Predictions: Bruce Ritchie

6 January 2017

Topic: Call Off Duty

RSS feed for Leading opinions on stamp duty

Leading opinions on stamp duty

_CALL OFF DUTY logo

Call Off Duty: extra stamp duty is immobilising house sales

5 January 2017

In my opinion, the stamp duty increases made by George Osborne were largely politically motivated and one suspects that the present government is concerned that in reducing stamp duty, particularly for the more expensive properties, they will be criticised for helping their rich friends.

_CALL OFF DUTY logo

Why the BPF is backing #CallOffDuty

16 December 2016

I am delighted that Property Week has launched its Call Off Duty campaign. Recent changes to stamp duty land tax (SDLT) on both the residential and commercial fronts have affected investor confidence and the ability of our industry to play its part in housing our country’s people and businesses

_CALL OFF DUTY logo

Call Off Duty: Industry backs fight against 'crippling' tax

8 December 2016

Property Week’s Call Off Duty campaign to convince the government to revisit George Osborne’s damaging changes to stamp duty has got off to a flying start, with key figures in the industry pledging their support.

London houses

It is time the government looks afresh at how it taxes property and land

8 December 2016

So the chancellor has delivered the last ever Autumn Statement and the first indication of the new government’s fiscal priorities.

Liz Hamson, editor of Propety Week

Back Property Week’s campaign to Call Off Duty

2 December 2016

When Philip Hammond failed to mention stamp duty in last week’s Autumn Statement, there were sighs of disappointment all round.

Steve Norris

The chancellor needs to see sense on stamp duty

2 December 2016

It’s good to see Property Week organising its Call Off Duty campaign to get chancellor Philip Hammond to understand just how destructive George Osborne’s changes to stamp duty land tax (SDLT) have been.

More opinion

This is your campaign

The Call Off Duty survey is live and waiting for your responses

Tell us what you want...

CalloffDuty

Timetable

  • Now The survey on our dedicated microsite is live and waiting for your responses
  • 9 January Deadline for responses
  • 20 January Property Week publishes the Call Off Duty list of demands
  • February We deliver our list of demands to 11 Downing Street
  • March (Budget day yet to be confirmed) The industry awaits the chancellor’s budget speech with bated breath
  • One minute later We celebrate victory, or…
  • April We regroup and carry on putting on the pressure in the build-up to the Budget Statement in the autumn

#CalloffDuty






Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Poll

Is it a good idea that local authorities are increasingly acting as property investors?