The great and the good of property gathered together at Grosvenor House on Park Lane for the 2018 Property Awards.


All the award winners hit the stage at the end of the Property Awards 2018

Source: @richhookPW

The evening was a celebration of the very best the industry has to offer, including the first-ever winner of our new Irvine Sellar Award: chief executive of the Canary Wharf Group, Sir George Iacobescu. 

It was certainly a night to remember, also headlined by two new entrants into our Hall of Fame, Helical’s outgoing chair Mike Slade and The Crown Estate’s Alison Nimmo, who was also crowned as the Property Personality of the Year 2018.

See the full list of winners below ahead of full highlights in next week’s print edition:

Hall of Fame holding image

2018 Hall of Fame inductees

Michael Slade (Helical)

Industry heavyweight Mike Slade announced his intention to step down from his role as non-executive chairman at Helical, after 34 years with the company, earlier this year.

One of the property industry’s most colourful figures, Slade joined the board as an executive director in 1984, and was appointed chief executive in 1986 and chairman in 2016.

Also known for his love of sailing and his 100ft yacht Leopard, at the helm of Helical, Slade transformed the group into a major force in the commercial property industry from the steel rebar group it was when he took over. 

He is President of Land Aid, the property industry charity, a Fellow of the College of Estate Management, Fellow of Wellington College, a Trustee of Purley Park charity and Sherborne School Foundation and Vice Admiral of the Marie Rose Trust. In April 2017, he was appointed Chairman of the Royal Marsden Cancer Charity’s Clinical Care and Research Centre Appeal to build a £50m global cancer treatment and research centre at The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust.

Ahead of his final departure from Helical in July, he enters our Hall of Fame.

Alison Nimmo (The Crown Estate)

Alison Nimmo’s background is in major development projects. In previous roles, she worked on the regeneration of Manchester city centre following the IRA bombing in 1996 and more recently, before becoming chief executive of The Crown Estate in 2012, she oversaw the planning and development of the Olympic Park.

As chief executive of The Crown Estate, she has put her experience to good work, driving the completion of the largest development pipeline in the business’s history. This has helped deliver some impressive financial results. In 2016-17, The Crown Estate notched up a total return of 8.1%, well ahead of the IPD/MSCI benchmark return of 4.4%.


Irvine Sellar

The Irvine Sellar Award, sponsored by WSP, celebrates an entrepreneurial individual or company that has shaken up the market in the past year with a groundbreaking project or initiative

Source: Rex Shutterstock/Alan Davidson/Silverhub

Irvine Sellar Award Winner - Sir George Iacobescu CBE

It is no exaggeration to say that George Iacobescu has done as much as anyone to change the face of London. Born in Romania in 1945, Iacobescu studied engineering at Bucharest University before escaping the rule of Nicolae Ceauşescu in 1975 and establishing a career in the property industry in Canada. By the late 1980s, he had become vice-president of Olympia & York, in which capacity he moved to London in 1988 to oversee the construction of Canary Wharf.

Iacobescu stayed with the project after the developer went into administration in 1991, working first as construction director, then deputy chief executive of the Canary Wharf Group when it formed in 1995, before taking the top job in 1997. For more than two decades, he has presided over what is now unquestionably one of the greatest business districts in the world.

  • Personality of the Year: Alison Nimmo, The Crown Estate

  • Young Personality of the Year: Savannah de Savary, Built-ID

    Award CategoryWinner
    Professional Agency Team of the Year Knight Frank - PAM Team
    Industrial Agency Team of the Year Savills
    Investment Agency Team of the Year CBRE
    Retail and Leisure Agency Team of the Year Lunson Mitchenall
    Niche or Regional Agency Team of the Year Metis Real Estate Advisors
    Office Agency Team of the Year JLL
    Corporate Deal of the Year GLP - GLP acquisition of Gazeley
    Property Deal of the Year Wrenbridge Sport - York Community Stadium
    Developer of the Year Ballymore
    Financier of the Year Blackstone Real Estate Debt Strategies (BREDS)
    Property Wellbeing Award CEG
    Occupier of the Year Bloomberg
    Property Company of the Year Derwent London
    Property Entrepreneur of the Year Appear Here
    Property Fund Manager of the Year Legal & General Investment Management
      M7 Real Estate
    PropTech Company of the Year Property Partner
    Property Newcomer of the Year Restoration London Group
    The Placemaking Award EcoWorld Ballymore - London City Island