Northamptonshire unitary authority plans fail to convince

Northamptonshire County Council building

Combination of seven councils into two sparks concerns that constituents’ local influence will be diluted

As of April 2021, Kettering, Corby, East Northamptonshire and Wellingborough will become North Northamptonshire while Daventry, Northampton and South Northamptonshire will become West Northamptonshire.

The decision is the latest in a wave of council mergers aimed at making the process of both local government and local planning simpler, cheaper and more efficient. Dorset, Somerset, Suffolk, Buckinghamshire and Yorkshire are just some of the other areas where councils are mulling the prospect of a merger.

Yet not everyone is convinced that the move to unify Northamptonshire’s eight councils is the best option, especially considering the financial controversy that made it necessary.

This content is only available to registered users

You must be logged in to continue

Gated access promo

Would you like to read more?

Register for free to finish this article

Registration includes the following benefits:

  • Access up to four FREE articles per month
  • Breaking news, comment and analysis from industry experts as it happens
  • Choose from our portfolio of email newsletters

To access this article REGISTER NOW

Four articles not enough? SUBSCRIBE for unlimited access to over 100 weekly articles and our comprehensive archive. For as little as £5 per week.

Registered users and subscribers SIGN IN here to continue