Four buildings have been unveiled as the winners of the Hackney Design Awards 2008.

Adelaide Wharf, Hothouse, Lau Sun House and Shoreditch Prototype House were revealed as winners by architecture critic Rowan Moore and mayor of Hackney Jules Pipe.

Adelaide Wharf at 118 - 120 Queensbridge Road was developed by First Base and English Partnerships and designed by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris and comprises 147 mixed tenure homes.

Free Form Arts Trust developed the Ash Sakula Architects-designed Hothouse scheme on 274 Richmond Road. It comprises a community scheme providing Workspace for creative industries.

The four winners were selected from a total of 36 nominations and 20 shortlisted schemes.

Private developer Paul Lau developed Lau Sun House, using inspiration from a traditional Japanese Ryokan guest house, using Kyson Design Limited architect.

While Tessa Cox and Oliver Bulleid developed the Shoreditch Prototype House to provided a proptype low energy house for dense urban sites. It was designed by Cox Bulleid Architects.

The awards are run by Hackney Council on a bi-annual basis as part of the Council’s commitment to the promotion and celebration of high quality design within the built environment.

Hackney mayor Pipe said: ‘We had very strong entries, showing the high quality of the innovative and award winning design we have across the borough. Well designed buildings and public spaces help to improve quality of life for our residents and create strong neighbourhoods.’