Build-to-rent specialist (BTR) Moda Living was the big winner at Property Week’s RESI Awards last night, securing two awards on the evening.

Resi Awards 2023

The property firm won Large Developer of the Year and the prize for Health and Wellbeing Initiative.

Last year, the firm completed three new BTR neighbourhoods totalling 1,472 homes and pushed ahead with its pipeline of sites worth a combined £1.5bn.

The developer’s health and wellbeing initiatives included the installation of a 200m rooftop running track at one of its properties and teaming up with an online GP service to allow residents to access doctor appointments for free.

The awards, which recognise excellence across the UK residential property sector, took place at a black-tie dinner at the Grosvenor House hotel in central London and were hosted by comedian Axel Blake.

Other winners on the night included Battersea Power Station, which scooped the prize of Development of the Year following the transformation of the Grade II-listed building into a mixed-use development with 254 apartments.

A joint venture between housebuilder Countryside Partnerships and Warwickshire Country Council won the prize of Deal of the Year – Residential. The Develop Warwickshire initiative will create 1,800 new homes this year and invest £2.5bn overall in new homes and jobs in the county.

This year’s Residential Property Personality of the Year was won by Roger Madelin, joint head of British Land’s Canada Water development in south-east London.

Madelin has been at the forefront of some of the UK’s most ambitious developments of the past 30 years, including the regeneration of King’s Cross in London and Brindleyplace in Birmingham. The £3.5bn Canada Water scheme will see a 53-acre site transformed into mixed-use neighbourhood with up to 3,000net-zero homes.

Stephanie Denton, head of content at Property Week, said: “This year’s RESI Awards show what an amazing roster of talent we have in the property sector. Congratulations to the winners and everyone shortlisted for this year’s awards.”