The best and brightest of the real estate sector have been crowned the winners at the 25th Property Awards.

Property Awards 2020

Over the course of a dazzling two-hour event, the silver anniversary Property Awards recognised leading industry names and businesses including Segro, Bruntwood SciTech and David Sleath for their achievements over the last 12 months.

The evening kicked off with a cocktail making masterclass from the Beyond Food Foundation, which showed the audience how to make a Property Awards purple Midnight Cocktail.

Drinks in hand, the audience were treated to entertainment from legendary impressionist Jon Culshaw, string quartet Siren and mind-reader Alex Crow.

But of course the main event of the night was the awards themselves, and the Covid-19 crisis certainly did not dampen the calibre of the 25th anniversary winners.

Segro won the special silver jubilee awards for its success and progress over the last 25 years, while chief executive David Sleath was named Personality of the Year.

Other winners included HBD which took home the coveted developer of the year award, Investec, which won financier/lender of the year, as well as Noé Group and Places for People, who jointly received the inaugural social impact award.

Bruntwood SciTech was crowned property company of the year with Great Portland Estates as a runner up, while Harri John and Roseanna Lawn won the young personality of the year award for their CREation network.

While the audience wasn’t able to kick of their heels and hit the dancefloor when the awards presentation was over, there was still plenty of cause for celebration after another successful year of the Property Awards.

Property Awards 2020 winners:

Alternatives Team of the Year

Winner: Savills

Highly commended: Gerald Eve


Deal of the Year

Winner: Oxford University Development, Oxford University and Legal & General

Highly commended: Delancey for the Earl’s Court Development


Industrial Agency Team of the Year

Winner: M1 Agency

Highly commended: Burbage Realty


Investment Agency Team of the Year

Winner: Lewis Ellis LLP


Retail and Leisure Agency Team of the Year

Winner: Metis Real Estate Advisors

Highly commended: GCW


Niche or Regional Agency Team of the Year

Winner: ACRE Capital Real Estate

Highly commended: Vail Williams


Office Agency Team of the Year

Winner: Kontor


Developer of the Year

Winner: HBD

Highly commended: Wrenbridge Land


Financier/Lender of the Year

Winner: Investec Structured Property Finance

Highly commended: OakNorth Bank


Professional Team of the Year

Winner: Trium Environmental

Highly commended: Knight Frank and Hollis


The Wellbeing Award

Winner: M Moser Associates


Social Impact Award

Winners: One Great Day (Noé Group) and Places for People

Highly commended: Proxy Address


Occupier of the Year

Winner: McDonald’s Restaurants


Property Company of the Year

Winner: Bruntwood SciTech

Highly commended: Great Portland Estates


Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Joseph Daniels

Highly commended: General Projects and room 2


Fund Manager of the Year

Winner: Legal & General Investment Management, Real Assets

Highly commended: Henderson Park


PropTech Innovator of the Year

Winner: Built-ID

Highly commended: VTS


Newcomer of the Year

Winner: Fabrix Capital

Highly commended: Guild Living


The Placemaking Award

Winner: Manchester Life, Step Places & The Hallé Concerts/Ancoats


Young Personality of the Year

Winners: Harri John and Rosanna Lawn, CREative


Personality of the Year

Winner: David Sleath


Irvine Sellar Award

Winner: Mark Quinn


Hall of Fame

Winners: Helen Gordon and John Burns


Silver Jubilee Award

Winner: SEGRO

Highly commended: Workspace Group